Friday 5/10: Future

(wikimedia.org)

1) robotics

2) virtual reality

  • We already experience a large market of alternate realities, from books to movies and video games. Although a large enough consumer base is still lacking for the mass-distribution of technology, fully-immeasurable virtual reality goggles for games is a feature I am looking forward to even though I am not a gamer myself I don’t expect initial models to be as Hollywood as  Gerard Butler’s Gamer (2009), but relinquishing the look axis from thumb pad controllers could take full advantage of a 360° environment that is already coded bringing more a natural feel to the process of “seeing” in a video game. I believe this will open up the market to those who have difficulty with non-instinctive controls, much like the success the Wii has experienced. I can also imagine an opportunity to re-release classic first person games like Halo with patches to accommodate the new technology.
  • One of my favorite series my my favorite author of all time: Otherland

3) world poverty issues

  • I often wonder if technology and the relationship between need, want, and availability will ever progress to a ratio where the world population has enough to survive. Perhaps social relations are too complex to organize such an arrangement. Then again, maybe inflation and the invention of exclusive leisure technologies will continue to divert wealth from other causes. I can’t pretend to know.

4) war

  • With the increasing use of drone technology and “distanced warfare” I sometimes ponder what the future of war will look like. Perhaps it is too naive an idea, but I’ve often imagined the invention of highly effective non-lethal weapons. It would be interesting to discuss the logistics of an all non-lethal army with someone who actually knows about the subject of military requirements.

5) the end of human kind

  • Of course I will be long gone, and I have heard that most believe our species will not even survive to see the dousing of the sun, but I am curious what stage of society humans will be at when the last one dies. Will it be a mass extinction event at the height of culture, or will the world devolve into inferior lifeforms under unbearable environment changes.
  • The Hollow Men (1925) is a poem by T. S. Eliot: “This is the way the world ends/ Not with a bang but a whimper.”

6) career

  • I want to be everything I see. I watch musicians, I want to do that for life. I take an art symposium class and I want to be an artist. I make money at a slaes job over summer and I imagine doing it for life. The Daily Nexus published a list of the least useful majors yesterday. Arts was #1. I am in a constant pull between my passions and my securities. Sometimes I feel as though I have too many passions and I am spread too thin to master any. Commit and choose, or wait and discover?

7) soul mate

  • I want to find love, same as anything else. No matter what I end up doing for income, I want to be able to come home and sleep next to the greatest reward in my life. How do I know, though? Will I always wonder if there is someone better? Will I always shy away and be intimidated by those I see as superior and undeserving of my burden?

8) family

  • I always work best when I serve someone else. Having kids seems like the most wonderful, scariest, life-fulfilling experiences there are. I wonder if I will be a good enough dad, though. I can hardly take care of myself.

9) old age

  • Growing up is hard. I’m very privileged compared to most so it feels as if I shouldn’t have anything to complain about. Growing old must be even harder. Or is it? I can only imagine the anxieties I feel about accomplishment and dreams will only be intensified in a position where I am looking back on possibilities. Or will I live out my days in satisfaction with the one I love? I guess I could also die tomorrow.

10) death

  • Do the lights just go out? Is there anything perceivable in terms of human experience beyond life? What will change when I am gone? What will my actions have effected? Would I even want to live “forever” even if I could? Do we give the world and universe its significance through self awareness or is there an intrinsic meaning to it all? Is there a difference between my mind, body and soul, or have layers of human constructed stories, theories, and concepts manifested into an acceptable notion just simple enough for me to understand but not transcend? Is there even such a thing as an “answer” outside human culture?

Do I love out of fear of loneliness or kindness?

Leave a comment